Relay-Version: version B 2.10 5/3/83; site utzoo.UUCP
Posting-Version: version B 2.10.2 8/7/84; site ucbvax.ARPA
Path: utzoo!watmath!clyde!burl!ulysses!ucbvax!citrin
From: citrin@ucbvax.ARPA (Wayne Citrin)
Newsgroups: net.sport.football
Subject: A rules question
Message-ID: <3811@ucbvax.ARPA>
Date: Fri, 14-Dec-84 15:09:23 EST
Article-I.D.: ucbvax.3811
Posted: Fri Dec 14 15:09:23 1984
Date-Received: Sun, 16-Dec-84 05:05:35 EST
Reply-To: citrin@ucbvax.UUCP (Wayne citrin)
Organization: University of California at Berkeley
Lines: 16
Summary: 

I think I read this a long time ago, but I'm not sure that it's true, and
if it is true, how come I've never seen it?

Supposedly, if a team takes a fair catch, the rules allow it a free kick
from the point of the catch.  This implies the following situation:

Team A punts from their own 5 (say), and team B signals a fair catch at
the 40.  Using the above rule, they take a free kick, put the ball on a
tee, and kick it through the uprights for a field goal.  Since it's a
free kick, team A can't block it.


Is this all bull, or what?

Wayne Citrin
(ucbvax!citrin)